top of page

Highlighting - Chesapeake Soul

This week’s Highlighting Series is something new, we are looking at a family-owned and operated screen printing and apparel design brand called Chesapeake Soul. Thanks to Jim Davis for writing this article.


Baltimore, MD

Hello, my name is Jim Davis, and I’m the owner operator of Chesapeake Soul. My family and I design, screen print, and operate our online store, Chesapeake Soul. Our designs are inspired by the Chesapeake Bay, stand-up paddleboarding, and the nearby Delmarva surf culture.


I’ve always been drawn to the water. As a teen, I saved up money and bought a canoe so that I could wander out with friends and go fishing. Sometimes the canoe became too much work if I wanted to go out alone, so shortly thereafter I downsized and bought a kayak. I spent a good bit of my free time fishing out of that kayak or simply wandering aimlessly around my local neck of the woods enjoying my surroundings.


In my late teens and early 20s, I began surfing a bit, and found myself often taking day trips to Ocean City MD, Indian River DE, and sometimes as far south as Assateague Island, VA. I rode a 9.5-foot long board for years and always loved that old-school classic style.


I was drawn to paddleboarding in 2013. It had a really surfy aesthetic, and a relaxed simplicity that I liked, and could enjoy anytime back home in the bay. I’d just toss my board in the back of my truck and go paddle out. Lighthouses, sunken vessels, into the marsh, back into the cat tails, you name it, I paddled it.



I was at the ocean a few years back and decided to experiment with surfing my paddleboard, as I’d seen a few others out there do from time to time. It was an absolute blast! Nowadays I try to soak up and squeeze in little day trips whenever I can to catch waves on my 11-foot NSP.



With all of that being said, Chesapeake Soul apparel is an extension of that quest to paddle, explore, and surf our region. I see it as a Chesapeake Bay Paddleboarding meets the salty surf of the Delmarva coastline! We sell teeshirts, hoodies, tanks, hats, and performance long-sleeve tees. We make all designs in-house and are very proud of the designs and products we sell and carry. Our favorite part is the design process, and creating apparel that local Delmarva paddlers and surfers will dig! We are family owned and operated in Baltimore Maryland.


You can check us out at ChesapeakeSoul.com,

and follow us on Instagram and Facebook!




Komentáře


SUP club MD logo2.png

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

SUPclubMD is a 

group of paddlers that meet up around Maryland for fun recreational, and relaxing days of paddling.  

Our Meet-Ups are informal and designed to get you on the water and feel comfortable with a group of like-minded paddlers.  Join us on our Facebook Group 

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
wider Stio vertical banner.png
ad square 2.png
bottom of page